We Were Rich and We Didn’t Know It: A Memoir of My Irish Boyhood

8.99

RRP: €10.51 You save 14% off the RRP

In stock

SKU: 9781501197109 Category: Tag: Author: Tom PhelanPublication Date: 1st Mar 2020Format: Paperback / softbackPages: 224Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Description

“You don’t have to be Irish to cherish this literary gift-just being human and curious and from a family will suffice.” -Malachy McCourt, New York Times bestselling author of A Monk Swimming

In the tradition of Frank McCourt’s Angela’s Ashes and Alice Taylor’s To School Through the Fields, Tom Phelan’s We Were Rich and We Didn’t Know It is a heartfelt and masterfully written memoir of growing up in Ireland in the 1940s.

Tom Phelan, who was born and raised in County Laois in the Irish midlands, spent his formative years working with his wise and demanding father as he sought to wrest a livelihood from a farm that was often wet, muddy, and back-breaking.

It was a time before rural electrification, the telephone, and indoor plumbing; a time when the main modes of travel were bicycle and animal cart; a time when small farmers struggled to survive and turkey eggs were hatched in the kitchen cupboard; a time when the Church exerted enormous control over Ireland.

We Were Rich and We Didn’t Know It recounts Tom’s upbringing in an isolated, rural community from the day he was delivered by the local midwife. With tears and laughter, it speaks to the strength of the human spirit in the face of life’s adversities.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

We Were Rich and We Didn’t Know It: A Memoir of My Irish Boyhood
8.99