The Trio

16.99

€18.74 You save 9%

In stock

Free Delivery with this book

SKU: 9780241551660 Category: Tag: Author: Johanna HedmanPublication Date: 7th Jul 2022Format: Paperback / softbackPages: 336Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd

Description

Sophisticated, mature and richly atmospheric, a debut novel about three young people navigating the risks and possibilities of intimacy

For fans of Andre Aciman, Deborah Levy and the Penguin European Writers series

The Trio is like the love child of Normal People and Brideshead Revisited. A sublime and elegiac mediation on love, intimacy, freedom and jealousy… Staggeringly beautiful’ Francesca Reece, author of Voyeur

Thora, August and Hugo come from different worlds – one an art school dreamer, one a wealthy scion of the old elite, and one an ordinary boy from out of town. But over the course of two sky-blue summers in Stockholm, they are drawn together magnetically.

The novel opens years later, when Hugo, long estranged from Thora and August, is visited by their daughter – who has questions about her parents which she believes Hugo can answer – and the memories of those luminous days come flooding back.

Modern yet timeless, poignant and euphoric, The Trio is a novel about the path not taken, the people we might have become, and the relationships which shape and haunt us long after they come to a close.

‘An international success before even being published, The Trio is a novel that stands well above the hype… Elegiac, bittersweet, [with] the golden shimmer of nostalgia’ Gefle Dagblad

‘Mature and confident, delicate and eloquent, a study in intimacy… The Trio creates a greedy sensation within the reader of constantly wanting to pick up a book and read just a few more pages… Timeless and universal’ Kult Magasin

‘Johanna Hedman should definitely expect to win prizes’ Upsala Nya Tidning

The Trio
16.99