My Life in Football : The Autobiography by Kevin Keegan (NT)

9781509877232

New product

Kevin Keegan is one of the greatest players in English football history, famed for his style on the pitch, his relentless ambition and passion for the game.

'And I'll tell you, honestly, I will love it if we beat them. Love it.!!!'
Kevin Keegan, 1996

In My Life in Football Keegan tells the story of his remarkable rise through the sport, from the Peglers Brass Works reserve team in Doncaster to helping Liverpool become the kings of Europe, winning a Bundesliga title with Hamburg and captaining England. Keegan was recognised around the world as one of the sport's genuine superstars and remains the only Englishman to win the Ballon d'Or twice.

As a manager, Keegan's five-year spell in charge at Newcastle is now legendary; he led the club from the depths of the old Second Division to the brink of the Premier League title with a breathtaking vision and flamboyant style that saw his team dubbed 'The Entertainers'.

Fifty years since making his professional debut, Keegan tells the full story of the exhilarating highs and excruciating lows, from that epic battle with Sir Alex Ferguson and Manchester United in the 1995-6 season, as well as the pain of managing England and, finally, the shattering truth about his unhappy return to Newcastle in the controversial Mike Ashley era.

Brilliant, funny, passionate, deeply moving and incredibly honest, My Life in Football is the story of the miner's son from Doncaster who became a superstar and was known to his adoring fans as 'King Kev'.

€7.99

Reviews

Write a review

My Life in Football : The Autobiography by Kevin Keegan (NT)

My Life in Football : The Autobiography by Kevin Keegan (NT)

Kevin Keegan is one of the greatest players in English football history, famed for his style on the pitch, his relentless ambition and passion for the game.

'And I'll tell you, honestly, I will love it if we beat them. Love it.!!!'
Kevin Keegan, 1996

In My Life in Football Keegan tells the story of his remarkable rise through the sport, from the Peglers Brass Works reserve team in Doncaster to helping Liverpool become the kings of Europe, winning a Bundesliga title with Hamburg and captaining England. Keegan was recognised around the world as one of the sport's genuine superstars and remains the only Englishman to win the Ballon d'Or twice.

As a manager, Keegan's five-year spell in charge at Newcastle is now legendary; he led the club from the depths of the old Second Division to the brink of the Premier League title with a breathtaking vision and flamboyant style that saw his team dubbed 'The Entertainers'.

Fifty years since making his professional debut, Keegan tells the full story of the exhilarating highs and excruciating lows, from that epic battle with Sir Alex Ferguson and Manchester United in the 1995-6 season, as well as the pain of managing England and, finally, the shattering truth about his unhappy return to Newcastle in the controversial Mike Ashley era.

Brilliant, funny, passionate, deeply moving and incredibly honest, My Life in Football is the story of the miner's son from Doncaster who became a superstar and was known to his adoring fans as 'King Kev'.

Related Products

'A memoir to stand alongside the classics by the likes of Jeanette Winterson and Lorna Sage ... compelling and ultimately joyous' Sunday Times________________________Tara Westover and her family grew up preparing for the End of Days but, according to the government, she didn't exist. She hadn't been registered for a birth certificate. She had no school...

€8.99

For years Geraint Thomas appeared blessed with extraordinary talent but jinxed at the greatest bike race in the world: twice an Olympic gold medallist on the track, Commonwealth champion, yet at the Tour de France a victim of crashes, bad luck and his willingness to sacrifice himself for his team-mates. In the summer of 2018, that curse was blown away in...

€8.99

An intimate, powerful, and inspiring memoir by the former First Lady of the United States In a life filled with meaning and accomplishment, Michelle Obama has emerged as one of the most iconic and compelling women of our era. As First Lady of the United States of America - the first African-American to serve in that role - she helped create the most...

€19.99

Jo Malone is the inspirational British businesswoman responsible for creating her globally renowned beauty business and, more recently, her new brand 'Jo Loves'. This, her first autobiography, tells in full her incredible journey from modest beginnings as a teenager, struggling with dyslexia and leaving school with no qualifications, to becoming an...

€8.99

Seán Hartnett left the British army in 2005, operating as a covert surveillance technician at JCU-NI, the top-secret counter-terrorism unit in Northern Ireland. His experiences were published in the bestselling Charlie One, the book the British Ministry of Defence tried to ban. But this wasn't the end of Hartnett's career in counter espionage. After...

€12.99

Renowned and loved for her refreshing candour on everyday issues, social, domestic and intimate, Stacey Solomon reminds us how important it is to embrace ourselves; the good, bad and the ugly.Stacey's authenticity and her courage to say what others daren't opens discussions on sensitive but significant topics; her lack of sex drive after having kids, her...

€13.99

The explosive narrative of the life, captivity, and trial of Bowe Bergdahl, the soldier who was abducted by the Taliban and whose story has served as a symbol for America's foundering war in AfghanistanIn the early hours of June 30, 2009, Private First Class Bowe Bergdahl walked off his platoon's base. Since that day, easy answers to the many questions...

€13.99

How a little kid from Dublin became a world champion boxer. Bernard Dunne tells his own story in his own words: for children!Growing up in Neilstown, west Dublin, Bernard Dunne was always going to be a boxer. His Dad Brendan was an Olympic boxer in his day, and coached in the CIE club in Inchicore, and his two big brothers were skilled boxers too. As...

€8.99

He was a sadistic monster. A master manipulator. His grisly killing spree left at least 30 innocent young women dead. Awaiting execution in a Florida electric chair, America's most notorious serial killer speaks - providing a chilling insight into his twisted mind. This is Ted Bundy's final confession. 

€7.99

Ole Gunnar Solskjaer is an Old Trafford legend. He blazed through a decade at Manchester United, scoring 126 goals in 366 appearances for the Red Devils.The Norwegian striker became famous for his uncanny ability to score in the dying minutes of important games, often coming on as a 'super-sub' - most famously scoring the last gasp winner against Bayern...

€8.99

'I have come to think of all the metal in my body as artificial stars, glistening beneath the skin, a constellation of old and new metal. A map, a tracing of connections and a guide to looking at things from different angles.' How do you tell the story of life that is no one thing? How do you tell the story of a life in a body, as it goes through...

€12.99

After two years of nonstop negotiations with the Russian authorities, Jean-Christophe Brisard and Lana Parshina were granted access to secret files detailing the Soviets' incredible hunt to recover Hitler's body: the layout of the bunker, plans for escaping, eyewitness accounts of the Fuhrer's final days, and human remains-a bit of skull with traces of...

€9.99

Drawing on the infamous Lord Lucan affair, this compelling novel explores the roots of a shocking murder from a fresh perspective and brings to vivid life an era when women's voices all too often went unheard. In the summer of 1974, Mandy River arrives in London to make a fresh start and begins working as nanny to the children of one Lady Morven. She...

€13.99

Dani Dyer stole the nation's heart with her genuine warmth and honest personality when she won Love Island this summer. She proves that you don't need to succumb to peer pressure, be swayed by all too perfect Insta-images or behave in a way that's not true to who you are. Her first book shows she is wise beyond her years as she shares her experiences...

€14.99

'This book is dedicated to the truth. It's still a thing.'Commander in Cheat: How Golf Explains Trump is a fascinating on-the-ground and behind-the-scenes survey of Donald Trump's ethics deficit on and off the golf course.Renowned sports writer Rick Reilly transports readers onto the greens with President Trump, revealing the absurd ways in which he lies...

€13.99

It has been ten years since Rachael Keogh was catapulted into the public consciousness, when a shocking image of her needle-ravaged arms - skin burnt from injecting heroin into her wasted veins - made front pages around the country. Desperate for help, she made a public appeal to get one of 27 detox beds in Ireland so that she could reclaim her life from...

€7.99

Inspired by her hugely popular podcast, How To Fail is Elizabeth Day's brilliantly funny, painfully honest and insightful celebration of things going wrong. This is a book for anyone who has ever failed. Which means it's a book for everyone. If I have learned one thing from this shockingly beautiful venture called life, it is this: failure has taught me...

€10.99

In the tradition of Frank McCourt's Angela's Ashes and Alice Taylor's To School Through the Fields, Tom Phelan's We Were Rich and We Didn't Know It is a heartfelt and masterfully written memoir of growing up in Ireland in the 1940s.Tom Phelan, who was born and raised in County Laois in the Irish midlands, spent his formative years working with his wise...

€11.99

'There are more ways than one of being happy... I am living proof of this.' Anne Lister was remarkable. Fearless, charismatic and determined to explore her lesbian sexuality, she forged her own path in a society that had no language to define her. She was a landowner, an industrialist and a prolific diarist, whose output has secured her legacy as one of...

€8.99

The local doctor occupies a privileged position in society. Pillars of the community and privy to the most intimate details of people's lives, we often imbue them with superhuman qualities and expect them to have all the answers. Rarely do we get to see the person behind the ever-calm, professional exterior and experience how they handle the weight of...

€13.99

`I am a fat person and I love my body. I feel lucky to be able to say that - it has taken a lot of work and a lot of time. I want to tell you what I have learned and how I got here.'In Happy Fat, comedian Sofie Hagen shares how she removed fatphobic influences from her daily life and found self-acceptance in a world where judgement and discrimination are...

€10.99

Now a major motion picture starring Melissa McCarthy-Lee Israel's hilarious and shocking memoir of the astonishing caper she carried on for almost two years when she forged and sold more than three hundred letters by such literary notables as Dorothy Parker, Edna Ferber, Noel Coward, and many others.Before turning to her life of crime-running a one-woman...

€7.99

A gripping narrative of power, corruption and greed, The Mechanism is the true story of how a simple investigation into money laundering uncovered the biggest corruption scandal in human history.When a small team of investigators discovered that a black market currency dealer was operating out of a Brazilian petrol station, they could never have imagined...

€8.99

Top